Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

New Gear!!

4 Comments

Who doesn’t love getting new gear?!? I’ve picked up some new items this past week to help with both ballet and running. First off, I got fitted for new running shoes and over the counter inserts. Of course, just my luck, I got the least cute pair of running shoes they had. I was kinda bummed….but it’s not a fashion show. I need to have comfort and reliability. So here’s my new shoes!!

20130403-203018.jpg
They are Mizuno Wave Creation 13.

I also picked up some new gear for stretching at home. My house is mostly hardwood floors, and even though I have some padding with marley flooring over it, it was not comfy to stretch on. I mainly use my “dance floor” to practice turns on and to work on pointe. It fits nicely now in our newly cleaned out spare bedroom.

20130403-203922.jpg

I decided to get a yoga mat to use for stretching at home. I went with a nice, thick, squishy one because of my hardwood floors. The mat is 6mm thick and it says its recommended for use for stretching…perfect! I got the mat for about $16 and a new 3-pack of looped resistance bands for about $9. So not too bad. Here are the mat and bands.

20130403-204759.jpg

20130403-204217.jpg

I’m going to try them out tonight in part of my new 30 day challenge. I took a work out class at my dance studio, taught by my ballet teacher, this past Monday. Ohhhhhh boy did it work!! I’m still sore! We did about 360 crunches, a TON of leg work, push ups at the barre, and some stretching at the end. Man oh man are muscles I didn’t even know I had hurting!! It was the best workout I’ve done in a long time. I absolutely loved it!!

Well, my 5 mile race is this Sunday. I’m starting to get really nervous! At least this race should be mostly flat. Whew! I’ll let you know how it goes!! Oh, and a big shout out to Kristen over at Adult Ballerina Project! I was the lucky winner of her Sweat Pink shoelace giveaway!! Yay! I’m so excited. I can’t wait to get those pretty pink laces on my new running shoes! They will be the perfect thing to make them “cute and girly”. Thanks Kristen!! 😃

4 thoughts on “New Gear!!

  1. Why did I think you made a post about obtaining a new mechanical gear, lol?

  2. Please take a picture of your laces in your shoes! And let me know how that mat works. I’ve been using a yoga/pilates mat for mine, and well, sometimes it doesn’t cut it when I’m doing a stretch that requires me to balance on my knees because I have hardwood floors as well.

    I’m incredibly jealous of your marley as well.

    And, last but not least, good luck with your 5 miler!

    • I will definitely take a picture of the laces on my shoes!! I’m so excited to get them! The mat I got is amazing. Super plush and comfy. I couldn’t even tell there was a hard wood floor under it. I’m really glad I got it. And thank you so much for the good luck! I will definitely need it. I’m so nervous!

Leave a Reply

