Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

Running Accessories

Leave a comment

Like any girl, I like to shop. So naturally when I started doing ballet I bought all sorts of leotards, tights, leg warmers, etc. You can never have too many ballet things. Since getting into running, the same thing has happened. I bought thermal running pants, compression running pants, compression shirts, running jacket, etc. Since I’m not running long distances right now, I don’t need to take many things with me when I run. Right now I take my phone to track my run, my iPod shuffle for music, and my asthma inhaler. Why the phone and iPod shuffle? Because my phone is all messed up with my music right now. I haven’t been able to correctly sync my iTunes music to it, so therefore the iPod shuffle comes along. I always plan on having my phone with me when I run for various reasons. Right now I put my inhaler in my jacket pocket. It doesn’t have a zipper so I’m always afraid it’s going to fall out. I clip my iPod shuffle to my jacket and just hold my phone in my hand. I needed something to better carry my stuff. So I took to the Internet and started looking for running accessories. I came across things called running belts. Seem of them are pretty fancy. I just need something simple and lightweight that won’t bounce or shift while I run. Some of these running belts are hydration belts. I have to admit they are pretty intimidating. Some of them can hold up to four 10 oz bottles! That’s crazy hydration right there. I was a little scared of these big running belts, so I focused on starting off with something smaller. I don’t really need to carry that much water with me since I’m not running more than 3-5 miles at a time. I looked around on Amazon.com and came across a few different belts I liked. I didn’t want to spend too much either. I ended up going with a Nathan Shadow Pak in the berry color and decided to also get a Nathan Add On Flask also in berry. It only holds 8 oz. of water which is just enough for now. I decided to do it this way so that I can just use the belt for my shorter runs and for now in the winter when it’s not as hot out. And when summer comes and I start running farther, I can simply attach the water bottle to my belt. Perfect! For both items I only ended up spending like $27 with free shipping. Not bad. If I ever get to running super crazy long distances then I would consider upgrading to one of those fancy belts. I can’t wait for them to get here. I will let you know how it goes!

Have any of you used a running belt before? If you did, what did you use?

20130304-105611.jpg

20130304-105616.jpg

Leave a Reply

