Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

Hello 2013!!

Leave a comment

20130101-213324.jpg

This is my first post of the new year! Yay! I’m so excited to see what this new year brings me! 2012 was a great year for me and my husband. He’s doing fabulous at work, I’m back doing what I love, I’ve taken up ballet, and took a few small trips throughout the year. I’m so lucky to have the family and friends that are a part of my life. I’m hoping to be able to spend more time with my friends this next year. I know that’s something I’ve been lacking in. I want to do a better job at taking care of our house. I can get kinda lazy and caught up in the day to day things. I want to lose a little bit of weight and get a little more in shape. Doing 6 hours of ballet a week isn’t enough. LB wants me to join the gym with her. I told her I’ll have to think about it. I’ve tried the whole gym thing twice now, and I just can’t seem to stick with it. We’ll see what happens though! I have the obvious goals of wanting to achieve as much as I can in ballet this next year.

Onto other issues….

So LB and I visited the dance store this past weekend. I was needing to ask my fitter about the small issues I was having with my Gaynors. My left foot just flares out of the wing area of my shoe so much. It doesn’t cause me any pain or discomfort, it just feels funny while I’m dancing. I don’t feel as secure as I want. And my right foot struggles with the hard shank, so I wanted to ask about options for that foot. Well, the worst thing happened. I tried on another pair of Gaynors. They were a sleek fit pair. Initially I loved them. I was a little worried about the low heel, but just figured that the elastic and ribbons would keep it on. Wrong. I was also slightly concerned that the box was too narrow for me. I was right. Now here’s where I get to the worst thing happening part….I bought them. Worst. Decision. Ever. I got home and sewed everything on them and tried to move in them. I couldn’t. I couldn’t roll through the shoe without the heels popping right off. Heck, I couldn’t walk without the heels just popping off. And worse…once I was up on pointe, I had horrible pressure and rubbing right on the pinky toe area of my feet. These shoes just do not fit. Period. LB also did not have luck with her shoes either. She went for a smaller size and much softer shank. She likes the shank but the shoes are just too small. She also got that sleek fit. This was just no good people. So I’m going to try tweaking them a little bit, but otherwise they will be sold on eBay. I was so upset. I had this gut feeling in the store about not buying these shoes, but I did it anyway. They gave me 20% off because I am wearing through my current Gaynors so quickly. They also were nice enough to exchange out my toe pads because I had already tore through them in just a months time.

At the end of the day though, buying them was a horrible decision. The silver lining though? I learned more about my feet and even more about my shoes. So I guess it’s not a total loss. Sigh.

I’m so excited to get back to class this week. I’ve missed it!! I hope everyone had a great New Year’s Eve! Here’s to a fabulous 2013!!! 🎉🎊🍻🍸

Leave a Reply

